## Proposed Amendment to the Eastern Oregon University Constitution Regarding Changes in Membership on Faculty Senate and University Council

### Rationale for Change

In order to foster open communication between the Faculty Senate and University Council on pertinent issues of mutual and like concern, each body shall select a representative to attend all meetings of both the University Council and the Faculty Senate. The addition of the University Council representative to Faculty Senate provides reciprocity by balancing the existing functions of non-voting membership outlined in Article IV, Section 2a of the University Constitution.

## **Original Wording**

#### IV. SHARED-GOVERNANCE

While the University committees shall form the foundation of shared-governance at Eastern Oregon University, all legislative responsibilities shall be vested in two representative bodies, a Faculty Senate and a University Council.

#### Section 1. Faculty Senate

a. Membership: The Faculty Senate shall consist of nineteen (19) members; nine (9) teaching faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences, seven (7) teaching faculty from the Colleges of Education and Business, with five (5) teaching faculty from Education and two (2) teaching faculty from Business, one (1) librarian, one (1) administrative faculty and one (1) student.

#### **Section 2. University Council**

a. Membership: The University Council shall consist of thirteen (13) voting members and one (1) non-voting member, including three (3) EOU students, three (3) administrative faculty, three (3) classified staff, one (1) member of the administration and three (3) academic faculty, one (1) from Arts & Sciences, one (1) from Education, and one (1) from Business. In addition, one member of the Faculty Senate shall serve as a non-voting member to ensure communication and cooperation between the Faculty Senate and University Council.

# **Proposed Changes (in red)**

#### IV. SHARED-GOVERNANCE

While the University committees shall form the foundation of shared-governance at Eastern Oregon University, all legislative responsibilities shall be vested in two representative bodies, a Faculty Senate and a University Council.

#### Section 1. Faculty Senate

a. Membership: The Faculty Senate shall consist of nineteen (19) voting members and one (1) non-voting member, including nine (9) teaching faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences, seven (7) teaching faculty from the Colleges of Education and Business, with five (5) teaching faculty from Education and two (2) teaching faculty from Business, one (1) librarian, one (1) administrative faculty, one (1) student, and one (1) nonvoting member of the University Council, who shall observe and report the actions of the Faculty Senate back to the University Council to ensure communication and cooperation between the Faculty Senate and the University Council.

### **Section 2. University Council**

a. Membership: The University Council shall consist of thirteen (13) voting members and one (1) non-voting member, including three (3) EOU students, three (3) administrative faculty, three (3) classified staff, one (1) member of the administration and three (3) academic faculty, with one (1) from Arts & Sciences, one (1) from Education, and one (1) from Business, and one (1) nonvoting member of the Faculty Senate, who shall observe and report the actions of the University Council back to the Faculty Senate to ensure communication and cooperation between the Faculty Senate and the University Council.